Database Front end question

I am thinking of creating a shareware database application and need some expert Doper advice!

I decided to use PostgreSQL even though I have no experience with that particular database platform (although I’m good with relational database design).

So how do I create a nice user interface for the tables that I make in Postgre? I don’t want to use Access because others may not have purchased it. I was looking into OpenOffice. Does that have a form & macro functionality to make a user interface. If it does not, is there any other software that I can use to create the forms & reports to a Postgre db?

It’s safe to say everyone has a browser, so go web-based. Do it all for free.

MySQL database, Apache web server, Coldfusion application server. Your code will be SQL, Coldfusion, with a little bit a JavaScript.

:wink:

Last I checked, sending out the Access runtime module with an Access application was legal.

That’s something I never thought about. Isn’t Coldfusion for client/server apps though? The thing I have in mind is a desktop application. Is Coldfusion applicable for this?

Never used it though, what’s the learning curve like?

For ASP, you do need to have server software installed on the machine that will be doing the ASP processing. Coldfusion is a pretty similar technology, so I’d assume it has a similar requirement–but I don’t know for sure.

The learning curve should be pretty short if you’ve done programming before, and not incredibly painful if you haven’t.

Yes, ColdFusion does require you to run an application on a server. On the other hand, its mostly a combination of html and sql and may be easier to code than learning asp.

How is this application going to be used?