Day Planners--Are they a help or a hindrance?

I just got back from a one day class that my supervisor strongly encouraged me to take, that taught me how to use a Franklin Covey dayplanner. I’ve never used a dayplanner before but it seems like a great idea. I can’t tell you how much of my life was at the mercy of the backs of envelopes, napkins from seedy bars, fast food wrappers etc. I know I’ll use the address book and the section where you write down great ideas and information that pops up each day, but I’m not so sure about the hopes, dreams and lofty aspirations that the teacher wanted us to plan for. Does this make me a bad person?

Could those dopes who use and like/dislike dayplanners answer this thread and let me know how they use their dayplanners and how they get along now vs. how they got along before? Also, are there other types of dayplanners that you like better? I was getting a little uncomfortable when the teacher suggested that I teach someone else some of her ideas within 48 hours (sounded like pyramid selling). I guess I just wanted something to keep all my information in one place.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m glad I’ve got a dayplanner and will put all sorts of useful stuff in it. I just thought that the Franklin Covey Company sounded a little too cultish.

Well, I’d be lost without my day planner, and I don’t quite know how I was able to get along with out it before. My day planner, haven’t named it yet (its on the list of things to do :)) essentially tells me what I need to do each day. It alerts of b-days and the such, it tells me when my current work contract will expire, and any time I am on the phone any notes that need to be taken are written in the back of it :slight_smile:

Now if your wondering if this planner has any hopes, dreams and lofty aspirations within it? Ummm not really… thats not to say that I have none, it’s just that they don’t end up in my planner.