diacritic Trema over an "i" in a French name?

We’re expecting a French foreign exchange student and we’re not sure how to say her name. She’s got a “ï” in her name- something I never saw when I studied French.

Of course, it’s possible that her name is not of French origin (although, doesn’t the French Government limit parents to a choice of, like, 12 approved names for newborns?).

Anyway, the name is: Maïlys

Ummmmmm, how do we say that name?

The tréma, or dieresis, over the second letter of a two-vowel pair means to pronounce each vowel separately instead of as a combination. Normally, in French ai is pronounced somewhat similarly to eh, but with the tréma, aï is pronounced ah-ee. And so, to now give you the information that you’re looking for, Maïlys is pronounced roughly the same as My lease.

Thanks, RadicalPi.

So, it’s still a two syllable name? the “a” and the “ï” don’t get there own syllables?

“My-lease” with the emphasis on the “My” or on the “-lease”?

This might help. (It’s pretty accurate.)

I suppose that Mah-ee-lease would be acceptable as well, but I wouldn’t harp on the ee too much. Just say the y of my a bit slower than you normally would in English.

ETA: Oh, and the emphasis would ideally be all parts about the same, or a bit more emphasis on the lease.

Thanks, both of you.
We now ought to be able to give her a proper bienvenue without mangling her name too much.

Ah, that explains why I’ve seen “coöperate”.

And I hope you get to ask her how to pronounce her name, and that it’s a non-awkward moment.

[mailis]. I’ve never seen this name before, but that’s the obvious way to pronounce it in French. And it’s three syllables. As someone said, the dieresis on the ‘ï’ means that both vowels are pronounced separately instead of being combined into another vowel. (“Mailys”, without dieresis, would probably be pronounced somewhat like [me:lis].)