Did I calculate this correctly?

Every year I make a spreadsheet on Excel with all of my grades for each midterm and test, with the percent allocated to them in the course outline, in order to watch my progress. I’m studying for my very last exam this term, and my spreadsheet seems to be telling me that between just passing the test with a 60% and getting 100%, it’s only a difference of 6 percentage points in my final grade, between an 81 and an 87.

Test 1 (15%): 91
Test 2 (10%): 87
Lab test 1 (15%): 89
Lab Test 2 (20%): 94
Lab test 3 (25%): 71
Final exam (15%) : ??

1. Did I do my math right?

2. Do I really have to study? :dubious:

Ok, ok, I’m studying. Really. I swear.

I get the same answer.
This isn’t a math course, is it?

The reason the grade on your final doesn’t seem to matter that much BTW is because it is such a small percentage of your grade. I’ve taken courses where the final accounted for half the grade, that would be a much different situation.
I guess getting a 71 on lab test 3 (25% of your grade) really hurt you. Bummer.

Yes, it really hurt to get that 71. We were using analyzers (it’s a hematology course) and mine went buggy right off the bat because I did my first test wrong, and then I was so nervous about the rest that I made silly mistakes. In the real world, I would have been able to stop, take 5 extra minutes to fix the machine or re-run my test, and kept going. Oh well.

I’ll study and try to get a good grade on this final, to redeem my pride!

The math is really easy.

15% weight x 40% swing = 6% difference in the total.

The difference between 100 and 60 is 40. And 15% of 40 is 6, which is the difference between 81 and 87. So, yes.