Did my slow cooker malfunction?

I’m a pretty good cook, but yesterday I burned a roast in the slow cooker. How is that even possible? Burning food in a slow cooker?
I was cooking a chuck roast. Set it for 8 hours on slow, was away from home towards the end and came back right about the 8 hour mark. I looked at the meat through the glass lid, saw it looked fine, enjoyed the very nice aroma, and turned the cooker off. Or at least I thought I did. It’s one of those one-button controls where you keep pushing it until you’re at the desired choice. I may have set it to the “high - 4 hours” setting instead of turning it off.
So just a few minutes later – and I mean maybe 2 or 3 minutes – I turn back to the slow cooker and the liquid is at a rapid boil, liquid on the walls of the pot is scorched, the edges of the meat are turning black, and that the sweet aroma has turned to a nasty burned smell. I yanked the power cord out.
The meal was ruined and the house smelled terrible.
So I’m wondering if I accidentally set the device on high and it’s normal for it to heat up that quickly, or do I have a malfunctioning slow cooker that might burn my house down the next time I use it?

Yes, and no. I don’t think it malfunctioned, although you can try another meal and see if Low works as expected, assuming you turn it off and not up to High by accident after 8 hours. Just so you know, my slow cooker set to High gets hot very fast.

It sounds to me like it’s broke, I would not expect a slow cooker even at high, after finished a low cooking session to be able to do that in less then 5 minutes. Even hard to do with a gas stove in that time frame with a full roast in liquid.

However if the liquid was gone, and the roast started to sear to the walls, maybe, but you said it was rapidly boiling so I assumed it was immersed.

Yeah, it shouldn’t boil at high. A nice simmer is as much as you should get. I’d toss it before something more important than a roast gets burned.