Digital Cameras

I need the Straight Dope on Digital cameras. I’ve read the reviews, but I’m hoping for some first hand experience. I currently use a Casio QV10- I got it when they first came out. Problems? Bad resolution, bad printed photos. The quality is just not good, and you have to hook up a cable to the PC and download the pics. I’m primarily interested in:
Quality (very sharp-real photo like resolution)
Convenience (either the pics come out on a disk or are very easily downloaded)

I want to do digital photography as a hobby, but I don’t see the point if you can’t print out nice pictures. I’m willing to spend around $1000 at the most.
any ideas?

An optimist sees an opportunity in every calamity; A pessimist sees a calamity in every opportunity.

Zette, I used a Sony Mavica at the last place I worked and it seemed to work pretty well. It stored stuff on 3-1/2" floppies, you could stick them right in to your computer and play away with them, which was nice. I’m NOT an expert on resolution or anything but it seemed fine for what me mostly used it for. Our ad agency told us the resolution wasn’t that great for newspaper stuff but I don’t think it looked too bad when it was actually printed in the paper. Hope this helps. I don’t know the model number though!

My wife and I have a Kodak DC210+, it has megal pixel resolution and does a very good job. It does not store to a disk (Sony is the main/only one that does), but the newer cameras (my sister has the Kodak DC 260 I believe) you can get it with a USB port and it is very fast to download or use a picture card reader for an additional $50 or so.