Do I need permission to sue the government?

Many times in my life, I’ve heard that no one can file a lawsuit against the federal government, unless they receive permission first. (Exactly how to receive permission is something I’ve never bothered to ask.) Is this true, or merely an urban legend?

BONUS TRIVIA QUESTION (possibly UL): Every law passed by the government deals with restricting what the people can do. Only once in the history of the United States has the government passed a law restricting what the GOVERNMENT can do. What is it? (Answer is here.)

Can’t answer the question about the extent to which the US has immunity in its own courts, as I am not a US lawyer, but no doubt this is basic stuff for US lawyers so you’ll get an answer quickly enough.

As to the bonus trivia point, the basic principle is that individuals can do anything which is not forbidden, while the US government can do nothing unless permitted. On the whole these are sound princples, but they do have the result that laws regulating the behaviour of individuals tend to be in the form “you may not do this”, while laws regulating the behavour of the government tend to be in the form “the government may do this”. But the notion that the Bill of Rights is the only legislation which explicitly restricts the power of goverment to act is nonsense. Look at the fourteenth amendment, for example, which restricts the power of state governments.