Do lawyers have to prove they are lawyers before they go to court?

I’m watching some Leverage reruns, and there have been two so far where someone in the team (Nate and Hardison) act as lawyers in court. Of course they aren’t actual lawyers.

Plus there was one Law & Order (Nowhere Man) about a murdered ADA who was both an identity thief and a fake lawyer.

In real life, of course, compared to TV there’s a lot that goes on that isn’t shown, but do lawyers have to prove their bona fides (law talkin’ types just love their Latin!) before they enter the courtroom? Could those Leverage episodes even get that far?

Or is it much more informal, until something bad happens? Hard to file a contempt citation if there’s no lawyer by that name.

www.loweringthebar.net is a great legal humor blog. I’m not a lawyer, but fairly frequently he posts stories about people practicing law for long periods of time before anyone noticed they didn’t actually have a license (or, even worse, before anyone noticed their license had been revoked). There are fairly significant penalties if you get caught, of course, but I get the impression that at least in most jurisdictions nobody is actively looking for cheaters.

Hmm. If you file things in court in my jurisdiction, you must include your Bar number. You also, now, are required to e-file most things if you are a lawyer. I don’t know for sure, but I would think that when you get your e-filing credentials, they would cross-check that you are admitted to the bar and/or that your bar number is legit.

Also, there are systems people use to fill in the address, etc. for lawyers on filings and such, which tap into the Bar’s membership directory. So I think it would be discovered fairly quickly.

My Bar number? It’s…uh…87!

Do you have to file notice to represent a client before court? You can’t just show up, right?

Funny site. And yep, found this on the front page of it: “No One Can Stop Me,” Says Lawyer About to Be Stopped