Do nicotine cravings ever go away

Argh! This year I’ve been 10 years (mostly) cigarette free but there still isn’t a day goes by when I don’t have some sort of nicotine craving. Admittedly, it’s not like it was for the first few years, where my every waking moment was consumed with fighting those cravings, but it’s still niggling.

Am I still going to feel like this in another decade?

OB

I dunno about nicotine, per say, but after being smoke-free for… shit… 13 years+ now, there are times I still crave a cigarette. I get stressed out and the cravings go up. I don’t think its nicotine I’m craving so much as the ability to step outside and just chill for 5 minutes or so. Now when I need that I make a cup of coffee and do the same.

I’m a teacher in a boarding school. I’ve found that on a bad day, when the students are really trying, I suck on the cap of a ballpoint pen. It’s somewhat analogous to smoking a Camel, and helps me de-stress a bit. A couple of my students have put 2 and 2 together and, to their credit, crank down the obnoxiousness when the see me chewing on a pen. It really does work.

It’s only been a year for me. :frowning:

Three months for me (but not the first time I’ve quit). Not a day goes by that I don’t want to smoke.

Four years for me. Pretty much no cravings ever, and that was true early on. Did the patch for a week then went cold turkey. I smoked for 20+ years, tried to quit several times but had no success until this time, when I actually lost the craving.

I can’t imagine continuing to crave it for 10 years and not giving in. That’s some serious willpower.

They definitely lessen with time. I used to dream that I still smoked about once a month. Now I never do (haven’t smoked in 40 years).

Tobacco cravings were much worse if I had any alcohol in me. If you’re a big drinker, that could be part of the cause of the strong cravings.