Do People Really Work 80 Hour Weeks?

Is it really that common for people to work 70 or 80-hour weeks?

I hear this claim made a lot but I’m skeptical. Are these people full of it? Do they do some kind of ‘creative accounting’ when they figure the amount of hours they work?? Are they actually PRODUCTIVE while working that many hours???

Can’t say I do so on a regular basis, but I’ve definitely had some weeks that I’ve worked double time.

I’m a computer programmer, and when I’ve got a deadline on a critical time-sensitive project, I can easily find myself working till 1AM every day for a week to get it done.

Yes, depends on what you do for a living. For example, doctors, clinical psychologists, programmers, etc. can have very long work weeks.

All I know is everyone in my higher headquarters claims to work 60-plus hour weeks all the time, but you can’t get anyone on the phone after 3:30.

The attorneys I worked for routinely put in 70-80 hour work weeks early in their careers. If they didnt bill for that amount of work their chances of making partner were practically nil.

Our management here typically does 60-70 hour weeks, and given the pure ambition most of these guys display, I can believe it.

On the other end of the spectrum, during good times when overtime is freely available, it’s not uncommon for some of our union designers to pull 90-100 hour weeks (time-and-a-half over 40, double-time on Sundays). I’m not saying they actually work that much, but they are on the clock.

Between my two jobs, I routinely work 80-hour weeks. (At least 50 at my full-time job, 30 at my part-time.) Granted, I’m only doing it because I’ll probably get laid off from my full-time job in the not-too-distant future, but compared to the stresses of college, this is a breeze.