Do you believe there's such a thing as a "bad seed"?

Let’s begin with a definition: “bad seed,” for the purposes of this thread, is a child raised by normal parents who turns out to be pure evil. In other words, let’s leave out abnormal bad experiences (wars, molestation, cranial injury, etc.) obvious mental illness (schizophrenia, psychosis), or the effects of drugs. It would help if said bad seed has siblings that are good seed, or at least okay seed.

Know anybody like that? I don’t, myself, and I’m glad I don’t.

(Special bonus points if you’re a bad seed yourself!)

I think that by definition a “bad seed” is a sociopath, which as the word implies is a pathology. While sociopaths most definitely exist, no question about it, it is a mental abnormality and they really don’t choose to be that way. A diagnosed sociopath I once worked with when I was a case manager in mental health probably summed it up nicely when he said “It’s not that I don’t want to care about the feelings and pain of others, it’s just that I don’t” (and he wasn’t being glib or trying to be funny). The ones I have known all had at least relatively normal parents.

So, bad seeds exist but it’s I think ultimately physiological/pathological in origin. That’s not to say they shouldn’t be held accountable for their actions- they should, for they at least intellectually know what they are doing is wrong and self-serving, and they should be punished accordingly and I would argue they should be punished to an even greater degree than others since they have no emotional negative reinforcement and thus only a selfish fear of reprisal is going to “correct” their behavior. But I do think it’s essentially a birth defect when someone’s an “all the way” bad seed.

I make a distinction between the sociopath and people who are assholes due to drugs or circumstance. The main difference is that there is hope for the latter.