Do you turn into a whiny baby when you're sick?

My husband can be hospitalized with his heart condition and do fine. But give him nausea with vomiting or a cold and he turns into a two-year-old shrieking and whining and expecting me to stand by him and serve him to the exclusion of all else.

I’m back downstairs so that I am not tempted to strangle him for his whininess.

Are you a whiny baby when you’re sick? Do you force your loved ones to avoid you out of fear they may strangle you?

Nope, I’m a good patient. As I’m a nurse, I would have to kill myself if I were any trouble to anyone. IMO, the only people who get to be babies about being sick are those under age about 5 or so. (being hurt is something else–a common cold will not go away faster if you whine about it. I’ll provide the hot soup and tea, kleenex and books or the remote. The rest is up to you.)

I confess I don’t understand adults who think the world should stop because they have a fever/headcold/laryngitis.

Nope, I prefer people to stay the hell away from me if I’m sick.

The only thing I want, if I’m too sick to get out of bed, is for someone to bring me a sprite and maybe some soup once in a great while.

No. When I’m sick I am not whiny. Actually, the very last thing I want is attention. Just leave me alone to sulk in peace. I do not want to be bothered unless someone is spurting blood that hasn’t stopped after an hour of using direct pressure, or there is a serious fire that can’t be put out with our fire extinguishers.

Everyone at our house is an adult. They can fend for themselves for as long as I need to recover. I will not try to rush things. I’ll be back amongst the living when I feel up to it, and not before.

Yes, I’m pretty whiny if you’re dumb enough to stay around me, but I mostly just tell people to go away. And maybe to find me some ginger ale or some pills or something.