Doctor Dopers - how did you do at school?

For you doctors of medicine, how good were you at high school? Were you a whiz or were you average academically?

Just wondering - my daughter is 10 and wants to be a doctor like the neighbors(both are doctors). I’m telling here she needs to do really really good from now until 12th grade.

Since I’m a lowly engineer, I have no idea. :smack:

The time to do good is in College.

I wasn an above-average student (Think top 20% academically) in HS who learned to take tests well and scored very high on the SATs and ACTs. That got me into a pretty decent university.

Once there, I worked hard to get the grades, reseach experience, and extra-curriculars, which got me accepted at a lot of medical schools.

10 is a bit young to be pushing academics, IMHO. I’ve seen kids excel in middle and high school, only to burn out.

As a senior medical student, I was a non-voting member of the admissions committee, and got to interview candidates, review their applications, and participate in the debate about whether to offer them a spot or not. At Johns Hopkins, they expected impressive academic performance in college, but they were more interested in seeing how the student was more than just a pre-med grind. (I don’t know how I got in, I was mostly a pre-med grind).

All this was in the 70’s and early 80’s.

OK, you want the truth, right?

In grade 10 my average was more than fifty percent lower than it was in grade 12 (you may wish to reflect on that for a moment). Thankfully, I had my “wild and crazy” days when it didn’t matter too much and had no impact on university acceptance. So, when I buckled down afterwards, it was easy enough to get into university.