Doctor Who Noob Here...

First off, my family’s television broke in 1976, when I was 10 years old, and as a result, aside from a brief 5-year period between 1991 and 1996, I’ve been effectively “not a TV watcher”. But I’ve been a Netflix streaming subscriber for the last year or so, and I’ve finally started watching Doctor Who. Specifically, the 2005 reboot(?) reimagining(?)/continuation of the series that actually started 2 years before my birth. If for no other reason than the realization that my lack of Doctor Who knowledge was a serious, gaping hole in my “nerd credentials”.

I’ve become completely smitten with Billie Piper as Rose Tyler.

But ultimately, the question at hand is this:

I’ve watched the first 2005 season, and I’m now 3 episodes into Season 2. Is it too early for me start arguing about which actor is the best Doctor?

Christoper Eccleston!

Season 2, Ep. 4 “School Reunion” - Sarah Jane Smith.

Is this the same actress from an earlier incarnation of the show? And yes, I"m asking for spoilers. Once I finish the new series, I plan to go back and start from the 1964 beginning.

Why does the Sarah Jane actress remind me so much of the President from the Battlestar Galactica reboot?

Yes, she is. Elizabeth Sladen first played Sarah Jane Smith from 1973 through 1976, as companion to the Third Doctor (Jon Pertwee) and the Fourth (Tom Baker). That’s old seasons 11 into 14. Her first episode was “The Time Warrior” which also introduced the Sontarans, and also the episode where we learn the Doctor’s home planet is called Gallifrey.