Doctors and their diplomas on the wall...

So my dad is a doctor… Of course he has his diplomas and certifications on the wall of his office.

But it reminds me of a Jerry Seinfeld bit where he says, “You know I really am a doctor, you know… Just look right there on the wall…”
So it got me to thinking…Why do doctors do this? Does any other profession do this regularly? I will have a Computer Science degree, which I will be very proud of, why can’t I hang my degree on the wall?

Anyway, it’s always bothered me.

Lawyers, self-employed accountants and university/college professors.

And of course you can hang your degree, it’s only that I’ve never had a place where I can hang it and customers will see it. My coworkers already know I’m an engineer.

Actuaries. My qualifications (uni degrees and Fellowship certificate) are framed and hanging on my office wall.

In some professions, it’s an ethical and legal violation not to be very clear about what you’re trained in. For a health care provider with a vendor’s license, that license is to be displayed in your place of business.

My dental hygienist has her degree posted on the wall. People who cut hair also display some sort of license, though maybe not a diploma.

An admin assistant at the college I used to work at had all of her degrees displayed on the wall, along with all of the framed certificates from awards she’d gotten as a student. The highest she went was a BA but she had a couple of different AA degrees in various businessy stuff. I though the whole display was rather sad. When I become a professor I think I’m going to hang mine about two inches above the baseboard in my office.

The garage where we take our cars for maintenance has several framed certificates on the wall in the waiting area. Not college degrees, of course, but verification that their mechanics are certified by the Muckety-Muck Auto Repair Association to do this or that type of repair work.