Does the 4th booster ever cause a positive test?

We got the (2nd) Moderna booster Friday. Today, Monday, Mrs. CC, older and immunocompromised, tested positive with a home test. Could that result be from getting a booster?

I’m not a doctor nor do I play one on TV, but I don’t see how an mRNA vaccine could cause a positive result on an antigen test.

I agree, I’m afraid it sounds like Mrs CC has Covid. Probably worth getting a PCR test to be certain. Hopefully she only suffers a mild dose.

Or a false positive; the newer lateral flow (‘at home’) tests have much better specificity but earlier ones were pretty poor in that regard, so it is always advisable to use multiple tests or a rtPCR (lab test) if unsure.

Stranger

No, it is impossible for there to be any causal connection between an mRNA vaccination and a positive antigen test. See here for the structure of the virus:

Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 - Wikipedia

The mRNA vaccines code only for the S (spike) part of the virus, not the entire virus. The antigen tests detect the N (nucleocapsid) part of the virus, see here for example with reference to the Abbot test:

Multidisciplinary assessment of the Abbott BinaxNOW SARS-CoV-2 point-of-care antigen test in the context of emerging viral variants and self-administration | Scientific Reports

So the antigen test is detecting a part of the virus that is just not present in the mRNA vaccine.

There is certainly some non-zero false positive rate, as with any test. But there is no causal connection between false positives and mRNA vaccination.

Mrs CC should provisionally assume that she has COVID, take precautions and seek whatever medical care is appropriate given her condition, and get a PCR test to confirm.

From the CDC site [what to do if test positive]:… If you receive a positive test result, you should