I got Covid for Christmas

Well, a few days later. My dumb older son who refused to get vaxxed started showing symptoms Tuesday. He’s been pretty sick with a high of 101.5 temp. Test showed positive. He’s getting better now but still hacking. My younger 16 yo son, who got the Pfizer vax as soon as it was available to 16 and up, is so far still symptom free.

Me, with my J&J vax from back in April, seemed like I might escape symptom-free, but moderate cold-like symptoms started creeping in by Thursday night, and yesterday midday I lost my sense of smell. Still, I could be a lot worse, just some sneezing, congestion, and a little minor cough but no temperature.

I had just made up my mind to get a Moderna booster after the holidays. Should I still go ahead and get the booster after I recover, or will I be immunized enough from having had Covid now?

I’m no doctor, but I don’t see how the booster could hurt. So that’s how I rule on the matter.
I’m glad your case was a mild one!

I’ve wondered how to tell the difference. I got a cold Monday.Sneezing, fatigue, then stuffed nose. Went to the Dr but they don’t test and she said all looked good, just a cold Just using saline solution and lots of tissues.

Why didn’t they test? Those are literally the most common symptoms of omicron. Hopefully they asked you to isolate.

No, actually. I’ve been bussing all week(stores, library, etc). I always mask. Maybe I have a cold, it’s not like it unfamiliar. No fever, smell and taste are fine.

Hey, another person who got covid for Christmas (maybe Santa is trying to reduce use of coal/fossil fuels, too?).

Hey, I’ve had two shots and a booster, and that was after a prior infection in October 2020. I wear a mask. I have cold symptoms. I don’t have fever or loss of taste/smell either.

I got tested. It’s covid.