Does this look like a good entry level gaming rig for $730?

From here.

Specs:

I’m a little concerned about the video card. This seems to indicate it’s not very good.

Yeah that video card isn’t really meant for modern high end gaming. It’s fine for indie old stuff though.

The power supply should be a brand name and 500 watt as well. The CPU is great.

For modern gaming I’d recommend the the R9 270 at $180, or the 760 or 7950 if your budget allows it ($250-260).

Are you willing to build your own PC, or do you want something pre-built?

I’m honestly just trying to fins a good rig at a decent price but I keep bumping into the $1000 spot which after upgrades it looks like this system would hit.

I guess I could build my own but it’s been at least 20 years since I was setting pins, swapping out cards, setting memory addresses and stuff like that so I’m really a noob.

Replacing your PSU is a piece of piss (and you will want more than 300W for a decent GPU and running that CPU), and installing graphics cards are even easier. Your motherboard has a PCIe slot, for most decent modern GPUs just slot it in, hook up the 6/8 pin power, do your drivers and off you go.

When you’re buying a new PSU that’s one of the things you’ll want to check, there would be nothing more frustrating than buying a new GPU only to discover your CPU doesn’t have an 8 pin supply.

Most modern PSU’s will have the 6 and 8 pin connectors though at the 500+ watt level at least.

IT’s really easy putting a PC together, assuming you don’t have any DOA components, it shoudl go without a hitch.

Something like this maybe?

http://cart.microcenter.com/cart.aspx

i5 3570k
z77 mobo
8 gigs of RAM
500 Watt Corsair PSU
1 TB harddrive
Case
GTX 760 GPU
~$800

Or go with the R9 270X : ASUS Radeon R9 270 Video Card R9270-DC2OC-2GD5 - Newegg.com

For ~$720

I also like this case: http://www.microcenter.com/product/399001/Elite_120_Advanced_Mini_ITX_Case_(RC-120A-KKN1)