Dopers in dangerous jobs--but little danger really experienced

Granted the jobs are meant to be dangerous…
I once met a Los Angeles City firefighter. he told me the most dangerous part of his job is driving to and from work every day or so.
A cousin in Indianapolis was a police officer for 20 years or so; after she retired from the force she said she never had to fire her gun except on the police pistol range.
And there must be plenty of veterans who have actually been in combat, but never got so much as a scratch, let along a serious wound.
How about it, Dopers? Anyone get hired as a police officer, firefighter, or whatever, and never actually get into a dangerous situation? (Despite what we see/hear on the news, I think the odds against actually experiencing danger are mightly high.)

Not a paying job, but I’m a volunteer firefighter.
I’ve been on several house/structure fires that were somewhat dangerous. On one townhouse fire, I went up the ladder (outside) to a third floor to get a woman out, with flames coming out of the second floor windows. (The other FFs were fighting the fire while I went up, but it was still kinda scary knowing the floor below us was burning.)
About 4 years ago, I was on a call for a gas tanker that had flipped over and caught on fire on the Beltway. That was probably my most dangerous call, not including dealing with stupid drunks at accidents. I’ve been assaulted by drunks twice.
The driving danger I see are the idiots who refuse to pull over for us when we are coming down the street with lights and sirens on.

I work with both my husband and mother-in-law in a little teeny office.

Oh wait, did you mean dangerous to me, or them? Because I will kill them eventually.

:smiley:

Here are the most dangerous jobs in America

[/quote]

1. Truck driver
  2. Farm worker
  3. Sales supervisor/proprietor
  4. Construction worker
  5. Police detective
  6. Airplane pilot
  7. Security guard
  8. Taxicab driver
  9. Timber cutter
  10. Cashier