Dopers who went past their bachelor degree.

Was it all worth it?

Yes. But don’t do it for the sake of staying in school longer or giving yourself more time to make up your mind what you want to do. Doing research really sucks unless you are genuinely interested in your topic.

Yes! I am loving every minute of grad school!Plus, the pay increase for grad hours and a grad degree is nice.
I love school, though, so I may not be the best source of opinion.

Well, my library science masters’ has gotten me mostly underemployed. Depends on your area of study.

I’m a little embarrased when someone calls me doctor (I have a PhD). It gets me much undeserved respect from people who don’t know me and some who think they do.

My most surreal moment was running through campus during our red dress hash. It was dark, so surely no one would recongnize me. One of my students happened to walk by and said “Good evening, Dr Sishoch”

But, to answer the OP, I wouldn’t trade my grad school days for anything. The experience gave me a career that I love. I just wish I had finished in a timely manner.

I’ll tell you in two years when I graduate from grad school.
Wooo! Grad school! Woooo!

Sorry. I’ll behave now.

Keep talking, people. I get my Bachelor’s in May and am thinking of going for my Master’s in a year or so.

Mostly for money, but also because I’m a geek that will never leave school.

“Dr. Carmichael” sounds kinda cool, though, and I think I could withstand 7 years of research and writing. I know a retired professor who whips out the “Dr.” title when they need to take care of business and it usually gets the job done.

I’ll second that.

My degrees (BA, MA) are in English. I’m glad I went to grad school, but there are a few regrets:

1. I regret that I went straight from the BA to the MA without working and/or traveling in between. What was my hurry?

2. I regret that I went straight from the MA to the PhD (unfinished) without working and/or traveling in between.