Dreamweaver vs. BBEdit vs. CreaText

Has anyone used one or a combination of these programs? I’d like some advice.

I’m going to work on my website soon (never mind that I’ve been telling myself that for four months now) and I want to move past the WYSIWYG layout programs like PageMill and Freeway. I want an app that’s mostly an HTML editor so I can become proficient in writing HTML code.

I’ve seen Dreamweaver in action, and although it’s very cool, I think I would prefer something a little more stripped down. There’s BBEdit, which I’ve heard for many years is a good program. Then there’s CreaText, which is a simple freeware program that looks to be about as basic as you can get without being lame.

The only feature I really care about is syntax color coding. All three programs can do that. In my site, I don’t plan on having anything more complicated than a few simple javascripts, so I don’t need anything complex. A tag library, color picker, and a decent search or find/replace feature would be nice, but aren’t necessary.

Dreamweaver’s price and the fact I’d only use two or three of its features make me reluctant to invest in it. CreaText looks to be a good fit, and you can’t beat its price… but I’d never heard of it before, and despite its positive reviews at VersionTracker, it is freeware, and thus has the disadvantages of freeware. BBEdit seems to be a good medium in both the features and price aspects.
Writing that last paragraph, I realize I’ve almost completely convinced myself to get BBEdit. But there’s still the part of me that would go with Dreamweaver on the you-never-know-when-you’ll-need-its-power premise, and the frugal, no-frills side of me that’s cheering CreaText on.

Someone, please, persuade me in one direction!

Detail you should know: Mac user. Have both OS X and 9.