Dremel Tool with diamond drill bit for pottery

I throw pottery, and one piece just came out of the kiln with some glaze that filled in some of the holes; it’s a small collander. I’d like to get a Dremel tool to clean up the holes but was told that I really need a diamond tipped drill bit to get through the high fire glazes without breaking the piece.

Should I get a diamond tipped drill bit? Sounds plausible. Which Dremel tool makes the most sense? I’d probably want a cordless one for ease of use. There are a few two-speed models, but I’m pretty sure I’d want the variable speed. Since I’ll be using it for pottery and other projects I want to get a good all-around tool.

All I can add is the Dremel is hands down the most useful tool ever made. I’d go with variable speed.

Dremels are indeed terriffic tools. I’ve been using the same one for over 20 years now. Yo should definitely get a variable speed. Dremel also makes a flex-shaft attachment that you might want to look into. It’s kinda expensive, and I don’t know if it fits all models, but it looks real useful. Once you own a Dremel, you’ll find all sorts of uses for it.

I like the corded Demels, myself. I know some people use the cordless but get two, because you know it will run out of juice just when you need it the most. The flex shaft is a hand saver, a necessity in my opinion if you use the Dremel for any length of time.

Make sure and wear saftey glasses too, the Dremels throw off a lot of stuff. I think i have some diamond tip bits (I have a ton of bits), I got them cheap on eBay. They are expensive at the hardware store.

As for the diamond dusted bit, it’s not a drill but you are after. That will shatter the piece badly.

It’s a thin cylindrical grinder bit. “Smooth”, not fluted like a drill bit- but coated with diamond dust. That will grind through both the glaze and the ceramic without introducing angular force against either that could shatter it.