Easy picnic lunch?

I dont’ know… maybe this is an IMHO, but anyway:

My girlfreind and I are going to have a picnic lunch this upcoming weekend, provided it’s nice out, and I was wondering what kind of food I could make that would be scrumptous, but would be easy to prepare out in the wild. Last time we went on one, I made Grilled Chicken Breats (marinated) and grilled potatoes, and had some cookies for dessert. What would be something origonal that I could do this time? I am a fairly decent cook, so suggest away!

In celebration of the Queen of England’s fiftieth year on the throne, the royal cooks suggest Jubilee Chicken, “a cold-served dish of succulent chicken breast in a creme fraiche sauce spiced with lime, nutmeg, parsley and ginger”. See http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=573&ncid=757&e=10&u=/nm/20020507/od_nm/britain_recipe_dc_1 for more details.

Off to IMHO.

Lil’ help? 2 days and counting

I’m a big fan of cold salads for picnics. Add in some good flatbread, cheese, fruit, chocolate and a wonderful bottle of wine and it’s simplicity and elegance at once. To me the point of the picnic is to enjoy the food and company, not to sweat over the menu.

Bulgar Pilaf is great to me. Just saute some onion and garlic in olive oil, add the bulgar and coat it in the oil. Throw it in a saucepan with some chicken stock, salt and cayenne and let it simmer and steam until the bulgar is separated and light. Stir in some parsley and lemon juice and serve it cold or hot with yogurt. Yummy stuff.

Or Tabbouleh is great, too. Bulgar, scallions, tomato, mint…no cooking at all. Just soak the bulgar for about 15 minutes and add the rest of the ingredients in. Scoop it up with a lettuce leaf and enjoy.

Or, you could give us some parameters. :slight_smile: