Economic Fallacy?

Trying to find a name of this concept to look up additional information to try and solve a work related product handling problem.

As an example:
You run a chain bookstores. You know on average what has sold per year of any given book title.

To properly stock your stores you decide to stock double your projected annual sales so if you normally sell 5 a year you stock 10 to account for any little good sales on a title. This way even if you do sell 5 in 3 months you have some time to order more.

A big boss type has come to the brilliant conclusion that to try and drive revenues you should :rolleyes: stock more copies of every item.

Since Item X sells 5 copies a year having 20 or 30 copies on hand does not increase sales it just increases the volume of product On hand.

You can certainly apply math and logic to optimize this problem. I have no experience with books, but the basic tradeoff to optimize is:

How much does it cost to a lose a sale?
How much does it cost to carry a book on the shelf (or warehouse, backroom, whatever) that doesn’t sell?

Of course, you will also need to know your projected lead time (from placing an order for more, until it arrives in the store).

Try searching for “just-in-time” inventory management, which is the concept to which you refer. Generally, you will optimize your profit if you DO NOT carry more inventory than you actually need (frees up capital for other purposes).

Well if you have all 20 or 30 copies on the shelves they will have more visibility and therefore more likely to be seen, picked up, bought, etc…

Yeah, KidCharlemagne is on the right track here.

I’m not sure if books would work this way, but it is very often true that a big pile of something will sell better than a small pile.