Eh. . . try to id this. . . waltz?

You all recognize the music. Unfortunately, I have no musical background, so the best I can do is describe it.

Three. . . descending (?) notes.
Same three notes, one octave(?) down.
Same three notes, one more lower.
Same three notes, one more lower.

Something like:
DOO-da-da DOO-da-da DOO-da-da DOO-da-da
Repeat those bar(?) at least one more time.

Then, something like

DOO-da-da DOO-DOO-DOO

Good luck with that. (But it is a serious question.)
DOO-da-da DOO-DOO-DOO

Musipedia

There are a number of different ways to look up a piece of music on Musipedia, including whistling it into your computer’s microphone.

Please let us know if you figure it out!

The closest thing I could think of is the opening to Grieg’s Piano Concerto, but that doesn’t really fit your description.

First of all . . . what makes you think it’s a waltz? Does it have a rhythm that is, generally, OOM-pah-pah, OOM-pah-pah?

Can you tell us where you heard it? Is is played by an orchestra?

You’re not talking about Carmen, are you?

Definitely nothing from Carmen. "I ask to be, or not to be. . . "

Good point. Maybe it ain’t. Whatever it is, though, you’ll immediately recognize it.