Electric Bass Players: What makes for a good rig.

I’m looking to buy a new bass head and cabinet. I’m still a pup since, I’ve been playing for only 2 years (don’t worry…I haven’t quit my day job). Some gigs are coming up that, I believe, will require more bottom than I can produce. I currently play through a 120W Hartke KickBack 15 and I’ve never been very pleased with it…more than enough for personal practice, not big enough to overcome a zealous drummer. It would actually perform well as an on-stage monitor, but we don’t have enough PA to run bass through it. I need some seasoned players’ opinions of what you have found to be helpful in determining what equipment to buy. The sky is NOT the limit. I’m budgeting $1200-1500.

Hartke…SWR…Ampeg…Fender…Peavey…etc.

2, 4, 8 ohms

Is there a formula of wattage to room size?

4X10 vs. 1X18 vs. 2X15

What really matters?

I left the ? off of the question in the thread title. It’ll never again.

First off, I am not a bass player, but I am a sound engineer, so I can only offer general advise.

For most club applications, speaker-wise you should go with two 15" or one 18". I’m not a big fan of using 10’s or 12’s for bass.

Amp-wise, get something with at least 200-300 watts.

I do know a bass player who is using a Hartke setup and he loves it. You might look into getting a second amp like the one you have and run them together.

As far as the type of sound you want, that’s pretty subjective. Go to your local retailer and try out some different rigs. Be sure to bring you own guitar with you.

Good luck.

When I played bass, I started out with a borrowed Fender (don’t remember the number) but it was a standard Fender. I liked it a lot - it had great reverb and distortion (what I was into at the time), good solid sound, quality speaker.

Later, I borrowed a friend’s Peavy and didn’t like it one bit. It wasn’t as bad as a Crate amp that I had to use at a show once. I still shudder to think about that amp.