End of Story

What is the printing term for the little icon or word at the end of articles in magazines? You don’t see it in newspapers but in magazines they put a little logo or something at the end so you know when it is over. I know this mark has a specific name and I used to know what it is but my head, so crammed full of facts as I’m sure y’all can relate, has forgotten.http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/newthread.php?do=newthread&f=3&subscription=0#

Generally they’re called dingbats.

It’s called a colophon

Ahem. :wink:

Actually, the colophon is the publisher’s details (you know, “Set in 18 on 20pt Comic Sans” etc etc), usually on the title page. It can also refer to the publisher’s logo/emblem itself.

I work in the newspaper business, and we just call them “end boxes” or “end blobs” depending on the graphic used. Typically we end text with a square box, with or without a drop shadow on it.

There may be a more technical term, but if there is I haven’t come across it. I’ll ask one of the old-time typesetting veterans when I get the chance…

A couple of years back you were very helpful in responding to my query “A Note on the Type.”
I read quite a bit, and try to collect colophons - the descriptive paragraph ones at the end of books. I copy the colophon, the first page of the book, and the title page.
I get a kick out of it when they wax poetically about the merits of the selected type, or discuss the history of the individuals who designed it.
Unfortunately, formal colophons are not as common as I would hope.
My most recent one was a neat one, as the book was a Bio of Ben Franklin, and it was set in Adobe Caslon, which was in turn based upon Caslon, a type BF imported to use in his print shop and chose for the first printing of the Declaration of Independence.

Sorry for the hijack.

I thought that was what the OP was describing. I just read it again, and I still think it’s what the OP is describing.

I think not, Mange.