Ever missed a goal because a technicality?

The past several years out of college have been a sequence of false starts for me.

First I worked at a tutoring center part-time in college. I wanted to be a manager there- required a BA. So when I graduated I applied as a manager. Now, this company advertises that they hire only 5% of people that apply for manager, but I honestly thought I would have an advantage because I worked there for three years, and some of the new managers (outside of internships) hadn’t worked a day in their life before being hired. I made it to the third and last interview, then didn’t get the job :confused: . It turns out my GPA wasn’t high enough- during the 3rd interview they actually pore over your transcripts and furrow their brow over every C+ they see.

I was really disappointed, but I didn’t let it stop me. Through applying for that job, I found out there was another, better tutoring position that required a BA, and my previous experience made me a perfect candidate. So I applied for that job and got it easily. However, it was still part-time, and I was looking for a full-time job. I decided to keep the job until I found something better (this was 2 years ago, still looking for a full-time job). So I applied for the credential program to work toward being a teacher, another goal of mine. I got a letter saying that I didn’t qualify for the program because my GPA was 0.02 short :smack: of the minimum requirement.

Granted, I probably could’ve taken 1 or 2 classes to pad my GPA and gone through the credential program, but I was impatient, wanted to move out of my parents house and start a career. I started working as a substitute teacher and combined with my tutoring job, had the combined hours of a full-time job minus the benefits or any decent raises.