Explain fire watch to me

Surfed past “Full Metal Jacket” last night, the part when the recruits already graduated (the last night on the island). Joker says “I draw fire watch”.

So, what exactly is/was fire watch? Did the private have to stay up the entire night, or did they switch off? How were they expected to perform in drills the next day if they were up all night?

From my Navy days.
Fire watch, or, just plain watch, consisted of 4 shifts of 4 hours. 1600 to 2000, 2000 to 2400, 2400 to 0400 (the mid watch), and 0400 to 0800. The mid watch pretty well meant that you wouldn’t be getting much, if any sleep.
If ‘Joker’ was volunteering for the first shift, he’d be sleeping all night after the watch. Good move.

Eons ago when I was a young recruit/Navy newbie, we’d have fire and security watches in the barracks or in other buildings as necessary. I remember having duty in a school building for the mid-watch.

If I remember correctly, watches were 4-hours long. We were required to make rounds periodically to make sure there were no problems - no fires, no plumbing leaks, no break-ins, and in the case of barracks watches, no unauthorized personnel in the building (no guys in the women’s barracks), no drunks on the stairs or in the bathrooms, that sort of thing.

Aboard ship, you might have to check equipment and record readings. We’d have to make logbook entries when we did our rounds. We were never armed, except maybe with a flashlight, and sometimes we’d have to check in with the duty officer by phone.

I have to say it was usually hell for me - I’m not a night person, and walking a beat at 2AM was a real chore. I was so glad to achieve some seniority and get out of that stuff.