Facebook "Etiquette" - does it exist among "friends?"

In my long history of asking dumbass questions here, this may be the dumbest, but is there such a thing?

My “friends” are from disparate places - H.S. pals who looked me up, old fellow employees, people from groups for specific interests etc. I’d say the ratio of the ones I’ve actually met IRL is about 75% met, 25% not.

If an old RL acquaintance posts a pro-Trump. pro-Confederate Monument, pro-assault rifles screed, I just roll on by. That is NOT most of my friends. And most of them ignore my hating on the orange shit-gibbon as well.

But one “friend” who I’ve never met IRL, who friended me from a widow’s group, insists on posting silly rebuttals to every anti-shit-gibbon thing I post.

I’ve done the thing where I don’t see her posts, whatever that’s called, but I haven’t outright blocked her. I guess that’s my only option, and then she’ll know, right? I am NOT a FB pro and really only look at it a couple times a week with my last smoke of the evening.

So, wouldn’t FB etiquette, if there is such a thing, say that’s just incorrect behavior? When I could see her posts, again, I just rolled on by. Nobody’s changing anyone’s mind around here. And yeah, I could reach out to her but I honestly don’t care to engage.

Drop her. You are under no social obligation to interact with morons.

In theory, you’re not posting on Facebook to be ignored you are posting so that your “friends” know what you are doing and thinking so at least the minimal amount of interaction expected is they read your screeds and you read theirs. There are a large number of people who can’t handle people being wrong and they must correct them. They are generally, very annoying friends. Taking politics aside it’s not weird that someone is responding to you to try and “correct” you but it does make them annoying and you have the same options that you have around your real friends stop spending time with them or tell them they are annoying.