Fan conventions: worth it?

I’m thinking about going to this Witching Hour Harry Potter convention/academic conference-type thing, and the way I have it figured, with travel/hotel/meal costs plus the con itself, the price of going for two days will be about $900.

Now, I’m a poor college student, but I’m also a geeky one. I’ve got about $2000 in the bank that I won on a game show, and I’ve always been one to favor good memories and experiences over cash in hand.

To those of you who have been/go to cons: what’s the lowdown? Is a $100 registration fee worth it for two days? I get that the big appeal is in meeting/hanging out with like-minded people, but I’m trying to get a clearer picture of how they work, I guess?

Does anyone have any good or bad con experiences to share? Any words of advice from an experienced con-goer? I’m trying to get as much information as I can before I make my decision.

I am not familiar with any of the Potter filk, since I refuse to read the books, but generalizing from years of attending SciFi and Comic conventions:

The bigger, the better. I don’t bother attending the LA SF conventions any more, because they are too small for the money. But we are hosting WorldCon in 2006, and that I will attend all days. Huge, it is. Lots to do/see/buy. I also make it a point to attend Comic-Con in San Diego every year, for the same reasons. That sucker is fraking huge! And Hollywood sends down sneak peaks, stars, authors, etc. to fill out the panels.

Witching Hour seems to have a selection of panels, some interesting guests, and such. Is this the first year for them? If so, be wary. A lot of new cons are just that…cons. But if they are established, then go for it. I’ll bet it will be worth your money. On that note, try volunteering for the con. That will get you in free, and let you see the insides.

I am not a Harry Potter fan, but I’ve been to numerous science fiction and fantasy cons, and I’ve always had a great time. I urge you to go for it!