Fed up with Teacher Hate and Disrespect in this Country

Ok, so I’m pretty new to the SD forums, so I hope I am putting this in the right place. If not, my apologies.

I would really like to know how people get off hating and disrespecting teachers so much. If you are someone who feels like teachers complain too much, are overpaid, have it easy, etc, please respond to my following story and questions. I’m going to try to be as civil as possible, but this is a topic that I feel very strongly about and causes a great deal of RAGE for me.

First, a bit of background. I am a 25 year old who spent his first 2 years after earning his Bachelors in Physics and Masters of Science in Science Education teaching high school physics. I quit this summer to persue a different career outside of teaching, even though that was my passion. It was a difficult decision, but I just couldn’t live with the complete lack of disrespect certain people have for teachers.

Some teachers get out of the profession because they can’t control their classroom, connect with their students, or just don’t like working with kids. That’s completely understandable, and I commend those teachers for getting out of the workforce after realizing they were never going to love working with the kids. This was NOT the case for me. I loved the students, and I am going to miss working with them greatly.

What DID kill teaching for me was the fact that no one was ever on my side (except for the other teachers, most of the time, who had no power to really help me). If a student was failing my class, I was the one to blame. The students blamed me for unfair grading, tests, etc. The parents blamed me for not teaching well enough or other things. The administration blamed me for not having enough experience, not being prepared enough, too many mistakes. In my two years of teaching, I had only one parent and one student who accepted responsibility and didn’t try to pawn the blame off onto me.