Federal Pay Continues Rapid Ascent - Is this a problem?

http://www.cato-at-liberty.org/2009/08/24/federal-pay-continues-rapid-ascent/

The above link takes you to the Cato Institute, so if you’re squeamish, here’s an excerpt:

The blog post also contains the data tables released by BEA, and a separate blog post, linked at the bottom, which responds to some of the criticisms leveled against the original post.

The data does indeed appear to show a growing gap between federal salaries and private sector salaries. One might be instantly provoked to outrage over this egregious overspending on federal jobs. It certainly appears that the blogger is thus provoked.

I’m not so sure, though. I’m a biologist, not an economist, so my analysis is likely to be flawed. That’s where the Dope comes in, as usual.

1. Might the data be skewed by the very large base of strictly minimum-wage jobs in the private sector? In general (although not in every case - the feds need janitors and unskilled labor too), federal jobs tend to go to more educated and/or qualified people. This necessarily means a higher starting salary, and the feds tend to contract out the more unskilled labor to private companies.

2. I suppose a more revealing statistic would be to look at the trend of the cost of living. Does it more closely match the private sector or the federal curve over the same period of time? It occurs to me that the private sector’s curve may be flatter for a couple of reasons:

a) Again, the minimum wage base salary. This has increased recently, but previously, there was a long period of time when it did not. Not to mention minimum-wage-with-tips, which might drag the average down even more. There are lots of waiters out there.

b) Cost of living increases. I know the federal government doesn’t determine COL raises arbitrarily, but uses a formula. From the Social Security web page:

The private sector does not (necessarily) use the same formula, or anything like it.