Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Discussion

I’m flabbergasted that there isn’t a thread for FFXIV players yet. The WoW thread is long-running and fairly well-populated, but nobody here plays in Eorzea?!

I started about a month ago and just started a paid subscription. My main is a Miqo’te Archer/Bard on Exodus, but I’ve been taking advantage of the other 7 available slots on the basic sub and have a few other race/class combinations on other servers.

So, anyone else playing? I’m an old WoW hand, and I still like WoW, but I’m bored with it, and FFXIV really seems like a deeper game (you can be ANY class, including crafting classes, just by changing your weapon/tool). I’ve seen opinions that it’s “easier” than WoW, but I don’t see that, really.

I started playing close to two months ago because a friend who is a big Final Fantasy fan started playing.

I’m still hanging on for the moment, but only because my friend’s still interested. She leaves, I’m out, and I may well be out somewhat soon anyway, because it just isn’t all that good.

The biggest problem I have with it is that there just isn’t anything it does better than any other game on the market. That is, when I played Rift, the open-world stuff there was better than anything else you could find at the time. SW:TOR had the full voice acting and stories as the draw, etc. FF:ARR is in many ways just a paint-by-numbers generic MMO where the big “draw” is that your mounts are called Chocobos, one of the towns has a bar called the Seventh Heaven, and people named Biggs, Wedge and Cid show up in the storyline.