First-grade social scheduling for the socially inept parent

My younger son made a few friends in his kindergarten class last year, had one over for his birthday party, went to the birthday of another. But because I’m not very good at meeting people and thinking of the things that go with it, I didn’t keep the names or phone numbers of his friends’ parents. My son has told me he wants to have his friends over sometimes, and I’m looking for some guidance on how one does this sort of thing - my older son didn’t live with me during this phase of his growing up, so I haven’t the foggiest idea how it works nowadays. (When I was in first grade, my friend’s mom babysat me, so my social activities were just part of my day.)

At the birthday parties, the parents of the kids hung around while the kids did their thing. Does anyone drop their kids off for birthday parties or just to play at someone’s house for a bit on the weekend? Or does having my son’s friends come play mean I have to entertain their parents? Is there an age where that’s more appropriate or expected? How does the invitation process work for a play-date? I’m totally baffled by how to proceed with this.