Fixing auto body rust?

I have a '68 Plymouth Fury play car. It runs beautifully, and the body is basically straight. However, of late, it’s been showing little surface rust spots on the paint; the chrome is perfect. Since I don’t want to spend the $$ right now to do a really good paint job, I’d like to fix these spots before they get really corroded.

Before I go to the auto parts store & load up on cheesy advice & various products, can someone give me any tips?

Thanks!

Well, I’m not an expert or anything, but if you sand off the rust and get a canister of primer from an autobody shop, that should easily halt the rust and prep the surface for the eventual painting.
That’s what I would do…

Thanks, Stpendous man (love the handle!) I thought that too, but I’ve also heard that primer is fairly porous & unless painted over, the metal underneath will continue rusting as soon as moisture penetrates the primer.

I’m a painting contractor, and know that there are products out there that will stabilize the rust & absolutely prevent future corrosion. There is such a dizzying array of products in the auto parts store, I wanted to get some practical advice before starting to whale away on La Chalupa Grande!

There is a chemical that is usually bought in pints, that reacts and changes characteristics of rust. The powder rust stage is the optimum condition for application. The rust and metal will turn dark grey or black. Hardcore preservationists will treat all the sheet metal on their car with this. The solution was once around $15-$20 a pint. Any automotive paint and products supplier worth his acrylic enamel should immediately recognise this by description.

There are some aerosol cold-galvanizing sprays that are good for your needs as well.

General info: two categories are rust remover (Naval Jelly) and rust converter (of the phosphoric acid and tannic acid variety).