Flipside: Great Cities to live in

Partly for selfish reasons. My wife wants to get into a Physician’s Assistant program and there aren’t any here. So we will have to leave the Great State of Mississippi. My background is in Corporate Sales and Marketing, but I recently got my A+ Certification, and I’m working now on my Network+.

Recommendations please.

The greatest of them all is New York. And I know because I’ve been lots of other places.

Here’s what NYC has going for it:

• The lowest violent crime rate of any large city in the US.
  • The best and most libraries, museums, concert halls, restaurants, opera halls, movie theaters, strip clubs and every other kind of entertainment from haute couture to faux derrière.
  • The most diversity of anywhere in the world. More languages are spoken on the streets of Queens than across the river at the United Nations. There is every kind of ethnic and specialty food available within walking distance of anywhere.
  • The subway. It’s totally rad!
  • You don’t need a car.
  • Nature is an easy train ride away. You can go hiking in watershed preserves in northern Westchester or New Jersey.
  • I live there, so it must be awesome.

Disadvantage:

• Expensive as hell.

Madison, WI is wonderful, but probably a wee bit colder than you’re used to in MS.
Big City culture, small town feel, very hip but not overly so. Very liberal, though, so if you’re a die hard Red Stater you might feel a bit out of place.

However, the UW has a wonderful medical program.

Dallas, Texas. I lived there for 6 years and I loved it. I will go back if I ever have the chance.

It’s a Big City, but you can get anywhere you want to be in <20 minutes. Decent public transportatin. Lots of schools and colleges. Great food and shopping. The people are nice. The traffic sucks at times, but you can get around it. Not expensive at all. An apartment in the city or right outside can be had for relatively little money.