Football (American) rules question

Say its 3rd down and the quarterback of Team A throws an interception. The Team B player runs the ball back a few yards and fumbles while being tackled and Team A recovers the fumble.

Does it go to 4th down for Team A or is it considered a new possesion and 1st down?

First and ten for team A at the spot of the fumble recovery. The downs are reset upon the change of possession (the interception), regardless of whatever else happens afterward. Take this play for example. The Falcons have it 2nd and 9 on the 49’ers 13. It’s intercepted, but fumbled on the 45 or so. First and 10 for the Falcons, but the ball is back on the 45.

MOved from General Questions to the Game Room.

samclem, Moderator