Free mandatory universal education is self-defeating

I am a teacher. I am certified in California and Texas in multiple areas: Art (K-12), Language Arts (4-12), Science (4-8 and General Science), Social Studies (4-8), Health (K-12), and Gifted and Talented (K-12). I have four years full-time teaching experience and another year or so of student teaching and substitute teaching. I am by no means an expert in teaching, but the time I’ve spent in the trenches has, I think, given me a little insight.

First, I strongly believe that education through high school graduation should be made available to all children, whether they are citizens, nationals, legal immigrants, or undocumented immigrants. There is no better way to ensure the success of our country and world as a whole than to give our children a foundation of knowledge and skill.

However, I strongly disagree that it should be completely free (or, more accurately, tax-payer supported) to the student and family. California has taken this to an extreme. I cannot, for instance, require students to purchase supplies of any sort. I can suggest. I can cajole. I can recommend. But, when it comes down to it, if a student arrives in my classroom with nothing but the clothes they wear, I am expected to equip that student with every thing from a #2 pencil to a graphing calculator to a sketchbook to a pen a day if they lose each one I give them.

The fact that everything is provided free of charge and replaced if lost/damaged/destroyed means that the student has no incentive to care for the item, no ownership of the resources, and suffers no consequences for the loss. What this means is that I see examples of waste, negligence, and outright vandalism on a daily basis.