Friend, your attitude is the reason you didn't get cast, get over yourself!

I am a pianist/music director who splits time between the professional and the community theater world. I have many friends that I have made doing theater, and when I am on a team putting up a show, I am often in the unenviable position of not casting scores of friends and acquaintances.

Most of those friends ‘get’ the process, and while not being cast can be a big let down, they get over it quickly, graciously, and quietly.

This weekend I had the benefit/joy of casting a show and not casting a particular friend. Here are some tips I would like to give her:

[ul]
[li]Asking questions about the process because the last show did it in such-and-such a fashion that you didn’t like does not endear you.[/li][li]Saying that you didn’t get cast in the last show must have been “for a reason”, namely, so you could be in this show, makes you sound desperate. [/li][li]Whether you realize it or not, treating this audition as cosmically important for your life gives you a stressed, tense, and generally unpleasant demeanor. [/ul][/li]
Those tips are important because you are not the only fish in the sea. There were a number of people with similar or equal talent who auditioned who didn’t give off a vibe of ‘someone who would be challenging to work with,’ and many of them didn’t get cast. You’re an adult. You should know that sometimes you get in, and sometimes you don’t.