From notebook code to the actual program with C++

Hey.
So as some of you might know, I’ve been trying to get into program coding, with my chosen language being C++.
I got a book on it and tried to follow its instructions but something went wrong. The sticking point: How to actually compile the code from the text program.
Not sure if I am barking up the right tree either, the book may be out of date or I may have the wrong type of computer (I have an HP Laptop 14).
I tried downloading the compiler from a site called OSDN. If this is the way to go, I must have set it up wrong, but being a novice I don’t know how to go about fixing it.
ANY help is appreciated, and thank you very much :slight_smile:

You can download GCC for free:

Yeah, if you are just writing basic C++ code GCC (stands for the GNU Compiler Collection) should work just fine.

Stranger

Depending on your comfort level with command line tools, if you’d rather use a IDE (An UI based application for programming). Visual Studio Community Edition is free. Tutorial here:

Yes, a good IDE makes life easier.
One can write the code in one window while the IDE helps with on the fly corrections and hints. Such as punctuation in the code.
Also can include a one click compile and run button. With some good warnings provided and clues to mistakes.

Now the IDE itself will require a bit of learning to take advantage of its power. But is well worth it.

IDE, schmIDE.

Create the following file; call it foo.cpp:

#include <iostream>

int main() {
  std::cout << "Hello, world!\n";
  return 0;
}

Next, compile it:
g++ foo.cpp

Finally, run the program:
./a.out

For starters, what operating system are you using on your HP laptop? Windows? And what’s the name of the book you’re using?

I’ve heard good things about Visual Studio Code on windows:

There are instructions there for how to install and start working with GCC.