Fry's Electronics in Las Vegas may not make it to the end of the year: RIP, Feb 2021

Not much more to add to the thread title, really.

Fry opened here in 2002 and was insanely popular. It was an alternative to Best Buy and Circuit City for TVs and stereos and stuff but it was also fantastic because they had actual electronic components. They had a huge supply of computers, RAM, motherboards, hard drives, cases, desks, cables, etc. Lines to checkout could take 10 minutes or more to get thru during non-holiday times.

The store is massive, too: 155,000 square feet (with over 70,000 products back in the day).

The parking lots can hold hundreds and hundreds of vehicles and it wasn’t unusual for it to be more than half full mid-day during the week. Saturdays were packed.

I do tradeshows for a living and when people needed things for their show, it was pretty common for someone to make a run to Fry’s in the middle of the day to procure them.

For the past year or so, I’ve actually documented the decline it’s going thru with pictures. I don’t shop there as much as I used to because they don’t have any products to sell. Shelves that were 5 feet tall and packed are now three feet tall and empty. There is no line to checkout at any of the 112 registers. A typical day would see 15-30 registers working as people waited in line; now there are 3 or 4 with no waiting.

When this store closes, there will be almost nowhere in Las Vegas to get perf boards, resistors, switches, diodes, etc. Sandy’s is still in business, but they’re a 1200 sq. foot store with a very limited inventory.

It’s an end that even I didn’t think would come this quickly, this dramatically.

And this isn’t just my opinion. I spoke to several employees including a manager that’s been there for more than a decade and they all agreed that being open in 2020 was a long shot and being open in 2021 was almost certainly not going to happen.