Getting lost in a cave in minecraft

I I just started playing and was overjoyed to find a cave system full of iron and coal. Problem was I didn’t mark how I got down and couldn’t find the way out. I eventually died when I was mining and released a lava spill that killed me.

How do people escape caves? Next time I will mark my way so I can trace my steps back. Can you just start building a staircase in the wall and keep climbing up until you hit the surface? What do you do if you hit water or lava doing that?

I leave a trail of torches behind me, but I’ve also just dug my way out.

Often, people will place torches always on one side. If you always put torches on the right side of the cave wall going down, then to get back up you follow them on the left side.

Alternately, just dig straight up. Put a torch on the block you’re standing on (to prevent gravel suffocation), dig up as high as you can go, then pillar up and repeat until you get to the surface.

Lava and water “drip” when you’re below them, so you can tell if you’re about to dig up into them.

Yeah, lines of torches are always helpful.

My default strategy is to stairstep my way down and then strip mine until I hit an underground cave system or ravine, then I light it up to make pathways back to the entrance of my stairs. I also often carry signs so if I run into a cave fork, I can stick a sign in front that labels each route.

What really fries my flipflops is when I get lost in the nether. Which is why I never play anymore without cheats and writing down the x and y coordinates of the portal.

You dig your way up. And you dig cautiously. When you are mining make sure there is a path behind you. Lava moves slowly so unless it falls from above your head you usually have time to dart backwards. Then you put stone or something between you and the lava. I’ve learned never to dig directly above me or directly below me unless I am sure.