Gifted and Talented

Hi. How are you. This is my very first attempt at a new thread.

Somebody (Ok it was John Corrado) mentioned being “Gifted and Talented”. Yeah, me too. And I’m betting it’s not that uncommon on this site.
So…were you Gifted and Talented? What does it mean to you? What did it mean to you? What did your school do about it (in compliance with whatever federal mandate put it into place, I guess.) Are people still Gifted and Talented? Or is it just an artifact of a 70’s/80’s childhood?

What do we think about the choice of words?

Myself…we had Junior Great Books, and a “creative” group we were called out of class for, and which met in a little room in the basement like an AA meeting. Then in Junior High they forgot all about us.

Yeah, I gotta admit that I was. As geeky as it makes me sound, yeah. I was in advanced classes all through school (only math in elementary, but most everything in High School). I also got art awards, acting awards, writing scholarships, a Film & Video Scholarship based on my abilities and creative work.
I know that there are still special high school classes up here that are advanced. I forget what it’s called, but it’s world renouned. I’ll think of it later.

I went to nerd camp and it was so nice.

Gifted. My school district didn’t put a lot of money into gifted student programs, tho. Mostly it was a waste of time unti you got to the levels where they actually had advanced classes, like Calculus and A.P. this-and-that. My mom actually pulled me out of the gifted program because it was such a waste of time. The woman they had running the thing didn’t even have a teaching degree. Sheeesh.