Gingko Biloba: stop or continue taking it?

We have been taking gingko biloba for several years now and we’re wondering if we should continue taking it. There was a recent studythat showed it was ineffective in preventing Alzheimer’s. However, we’re not really taking it for Alzheimer’s prevention, but for the (alleged?) increase in mental acuity.

As we age, we notice some slippage in our mental abilities. (poorer memory, harder to concentrate, etc.) We started taking gingko to help with these problems.

So my questions to discuss:

Is there any reasonable evidence that gingko helps alleviate some of the “normal” mental problems that come with age? Any studies that show improvement or lack of further degradation?

Have others noticed improvements in their mental abilities after taking gingko? Or found no improvement?

What’s your opinion? Continue taking it or stop taking it, and why?

Thanks,
J.

From wiki:

I am not a doctor, but I would suggest you talk to one, do more research and learn more about the study completed and see if there are more to support it. I would also imagine that exercising your brain and your body (physical exercise has been linked with mental acuity, too) would help you more than an herbal supplement.

Obviously, take whatever advice you get (other than that from a medical professional you’re seeing) with a grain of salt. For what it’s worth, I’ve always been mistrustful of herbal supplements, especially in the U.S., where they’re generally not FDA approved (though FDA approval is starting to mean less and less, isn’t it?).

Somewhat related. From a study I recall in the past year or three.

Folks were drinking a glass of “juice” a day . Apparently the study really did not define what “juice” was. I think it was 3 or more days a week.

Grape juice, orange juice, tomato juice most likely.

The folks drinking the juice had a “alzheimers rate” of something like 25 percent versus 75 percent. Or something like that.