Glucometer recommendations, please

I’ve been using a One Touch Ultrasmart glucometer since about 2006 when I was diagnosed with type II diabetes. Actually, it was my late husband’s glucometer and I started using it after he died (in 2000). It has a memory, built-in log, 5-second results, and it has served me well.

However, none of my local pharmacies seems to carry the test strips any more. And browsing the LifeScan site tells me that mine is an “older machine” :eek: (just like its owner… I’m now on Medicare).

So looking for recommendations on glucometers. I’d just as soon have separate strips, not a drum or disc. [I have a darling little beaded bag from Anthropologie that I carry the meter and supplies in.] I really like the 5-second result time, but I suspect that’s pretty standard now, plus the new meters prolly have other bells and whistles that I’ve never heard of.

I’ve read good things about the AccuCheck Aviva. One reviewer said that Dr. Richard Bernstein’s office recommended it. Other reviewers said it gives consistent results.

I just got the Aviva, I will have to think about it for a while. It does take more blood than my One Touch Ultra did - but I can’t get the Ultra strips at the base hospital and I refuse to spend $160 for my damned test strips.

The Aviva sets up easily enough, it has a QA number chip that comes in each box of 50 strips that has to be plugged into the meter to work so I am not overly thrilled with that, and of course the need for a larger amount of blood [even though it is still a very small amount.]

So this is how you code it for each new box of strips?

Yup.

I tried a heel of the hand stick this morning for variety[it gives the parameters for when you can stick somewhere other than the finger and fasting is one of the times] and compared it to a pretty much simultaneous finger stick and they both were identical. [as someone on the board said if you cant experiment on yourself, who can you experiment upon… :p]