Gnomeo and Juliet - Oh, yes, I did sit through this movie.

Yeah, so a couple of months ago, we had this conversation at work. I’m a teacher of 7th Grade, by the way.

**Fellow teacher: We should take the kids to see a movie. They’ve been great kids and we should reward them.

Me: Yeah, I’m cool with that. Last year, we took a group to see How To Train Your Dragon and connected it to Science and English requirements. The kids loved it, it was a great movie, and everyone had a blast.

Fellow teacher: We should take them to see “Gnomeo and Juliet.” It looks cute.

Me: I think that movie is for little kids. Like 4 or 5 year old kids.

Fellow teacher: Nah, it looks cute. We should go see it.**

Anyway, it happened. We took all the kids to the theater, paid the premium for 3D(waste of money, by the way) and saw Gnomeo and Juliet.

It’s a very lame movie, designed for kids aged 3-5 years old, and was a very boring and rather pathetic way to spend 80 minutes or so. It plays like a series of little 20 minute sketches all edited into one movie. It’s not one of those kids movies adults can sit through and even mildly enjoy.

It was terrible.

And I was right. It’s for little kids.

I can’t believe we made tons of 7th Graders sit through it.

Anyone else see it? Thoughts?

Uh, I saw the preview, does that count?

I nearly saw the actual movie, last week - girls’ night out with a friend. We decided on No Strings Attached instead (phew). We had wine with dinner beforehand but not enough to make Gnomeo and Juliet palatable.

At least the kids got the cool 3D effects, and I suspect they enjoyed the change of pace if not the movie itself!

Were there any farting gags?

How do they handle the double suicide at the end?