Go

There’s a possible ambiguity in the rule:

  • You must take your entire roll if possible.*
 +13-14-15-16-17-18------19-20-21-22-23-24-+     
 |             O  O |   | O  O  O  O  O    |     
 |                  |   | O  O  O  O  O    |
 |                  |   |                  |
 |                  |   |                  |
 |                  |   |                  |
 |                  |BAR|                  |     
 |                  |   |                  |
 |                  |   |                  |
 |                  |   |                  |
 |                  |   |    X        O    |     
 |                  |   | X  X        O  O |     
 +12-11-10--9--8--7-------6--5--4--3--2--1-+     

If X rolls 3-1 in this position he is not allowed to play 6/5 and say “I have no 3.” He must find a way to play both 3 and 1 … and thereby leave three blots!

HOWEVER, if he rolls 6-1 he is NOT required to play 6/0 5/4 and leave two blots. He is allowed to play safe with 6/5/0 — this is considered “taking the whole roll” even though a pip is wasted with the 6.