Goddam, what should I do?

Career question.

I’ve been a cook in the restaurant business for almost 31 years.

After 31 years, I’m really tired of making “above minimum” wage. Here in Washington, I’m making $11/hour as a cook.

I’ve been perusing Craigslist, and I’ve noticed that Starbucks is looking for an Assistant Manager. And they’re offering $18/hour.

I’m tempted to apply, but … I have no experience in management. I just have 31 years of experience in foodservice.

I’m fucking 48 years old, and I’m tired of working for barely over minimum. Can I do wrong byapplying for a management position with Starbucks? All they can say is “NO”.

I think you answered it yourself - the worst that can happen is you don’t get the job (which you don’t have now, anyway). Even a rejection could be helpful - you can ask them what specific skills they are looking for that you could acquire.

They might be willing to train! You seem like a good candidate - lots of experience in foodservice, looking for a career. Try it!

Have you ever worked under a really good restaurant manager? If so, do you know what they do? Do you think you could do it too? You probably could, right? Shoot for it!

Get out of restaurants and into hotels.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Heh. I left the hotel business last year.

Why? That’s where the opportunities are. Banquet Chef, Sous Chef, Exec Chef. For someone with your experience in the kitchen there is nowhere to go but up.

Go for it, they could very well hire you! Good luck!

Yeah, that’d be great, but it ain’t gonna happen. No sane person is going to offer a management position to someone who has spent thirty years as a line cook with no supervisory experience.

Do it. I was a barista at a competing coffee shop for a couple years (many moons ago). I made good money with tips, and had full health coverage only working 20 hours a week.