Goethe Street in Chicago

OK, I grew up in Chicago, and most of my life I’ve been told the “correct” pronunciation of this street is “GER-tuh.” That pronunciation and the simple “GOATH” seem to be the two in use in Chicago. I studied German a few years back and, confirming my suspicion, there is no “r” sound in “Goethe.” It’s something like “GÖ-tuh.” The “ö” sounding kind of like the vowel in “fir” or the “eu” in French “peu.”

Why in the world have my teachers always insisted on pronouncing a non-existant “R” in the street name, and why do my fellow Chicagoan insist this is the proper pronunciation, when it obviously is not?

My suspicion tells me it has to do with some language books which tell you “ö” is pronounced as “ER” (but only in British English) or as “ER” with a note telling you not to pronounce the “R.”

Any ideas? And why has this misinformation been so widespread?

Why is Cairo in southern Illinois pronounced KAY-ro?

Why is Prarie du Chien in Wisconsin pronounced Prayer-ee doo SHEEN?

Why is La Grange road called La Grain-jeh?

And let’s not even get into the various manglings of Indian place names, like Chicago…

People have problems pronouncing foreign words, but once you get enough people mispronouncing a word for long enough, the mispronounciation becomes the new standard. The people in KAY-ro have been calling it KAY-ro for generations, so KAY-ro it is.

As to why Goethe is misprounounced in this particular way, the o-umlaut sound is unnatural in English. So people substitute the closest common English sound, which is “er.” Those who take German classes or read footnotes in dictionaries know this is incorrect, but it takes practice to say this unfamiliar sound correctly.

Try this simple test. Pick a random (non-German-speaking, non-expert-in-Romantic-Literature) person, and say “Goethe” with the correct pronounciation. Then ask them to repeat it back to you. I’d wager that most of them say “Ger-tuh.”